The Mairtín Crawford Awards

     Category:  Multiple Disciplines
     Deadline:  May 1, 2018  (expired!)
     View/print as PDF:  A4 size - A5 size
     Contest's Website:  [link]
    The Mairtín Crawford Awards

    Belfast Book Festival is pleased to announce the second Mairtín Crawford Poetry Award and the first ever Mairtín Crawford Short Story Award.

    The Awards are aimed at writers working towards their first full, published collections in poetry or short story. Both published and unpublished poets and short story writers are invited to submit between 6 and 10 poems or one short story per submission, with the only stipulation being that they have not yet had full collections published.

    The judging panel for The Mairtín Crawford Poetry Award will be headed by poet Moyra Donaldson, whilst novelist and short story writer Jan Carson will judge the Mairtín Crawford Short Story Award.

    Worldwide copyright of each entry remains entirely with the author.

    Entry Fee: 5 GBP (approx. 7 USD) for up to 10 poems or 1 short story.


    Open to writers of any nationality or residence aged 18 and over, who have not yet published full collections.


    The winner of the each award will receive a six month mentorship, with further prizes to be confirmed. The winners will also be invited to read at an event during the Belfast Book Festival 2018.

    Contest's Website Share